[VIDEO+TRANS] Interview with Japan Gymnastics London 2012 Team

Credits: 

TRANSLATION

  • Interviewer: Is there any Japanese food that you want to eat right now?
  • Ryohei: I’ve always loved yakiniku (grilled meat)
  • Interviewer: How do you like it?
  • Ryohei: I love tongue.
  • Interviewer: How about you, Yusuke?
  • Yusuke: Yakiniku as well, especially steak.
  • Interviewer: How about the older brother?
  • Kazuhito: Well, we don’t go out here…so, any Japanese food will do.
  • Interviewer: The stomach is very accepting…
  • Kazuhito: Yes.
  • Interviewer: How about Uchimura?
  • Kohei: I love yakiniku too.
  • Interviewer: How do you like your meat?
  • Kohei: First class ribs.
  • Interviewer: What were you thinking about when the Chinese gymnasts were receiving their team gold medals?
  • Kohei: I thought it was just like it was 4 years ago, and I looked on with envy.
  • Interviewer: During that time, did you feel like you needed to get the gold for the All-Around?
  • Kohei: I hadn’t thought about it like that at that time. Merely, “It will be nice to win it.”
  • Interviewer: And now, you did win it. How is it?
  • Kohei: The moment I received the gold medal, I really couldn’t believe it. I’m happy to finally be an Olympic gold medalist but on the other hand, the achievement can be a little burdensome.
  • Interviewer: Because of the pressure that comes with it?
  • Kohei: Yes.
  • Interviewer: All of you are very calm, but have you ever gotten very excited and go “YAY~!” usually? Ah, excuse me…I got a little excited myself.
  • (laughter)
  • Kohei: Of course.
  • Interviewer: For example?
  • Kohei: Like when I got the Garigari-kun winning stick.
  • [Garigari-kun is a popular ice popsicle, where the winning stick can get you another popsicle for free or other gifts, lol]
  • Interviewer: How about Kato?
  • Ryohei: Because of my concentration during the games, I usually go “Yay” quietly.
  • Interviewer: You’re a university student?
  • Ryohei: Yes.
  • Interviewer: You must be really popular among girls.
  • Ryohei: Ah no, that’s not the case.
  • Interviewer: It must be really tiring from now on.
  • Ryohei: Well, I live about my life quietly.
  • Interviewer: Did you get starstruck in London, meeting other athletes?
  • Kohei: I really wanted to meet Usain Bolt.
  • Interviewer: How did it go?
  • Kohei: I didn’t get to meet him…
  • Interviewer: Because the venues were different…
  • Kohei: Yes. But, I was able to meet Tyson Gay.
  • Interviewer: Oh, the track runner?
  • Kohei: I was really excited, I was all “Uwaaa~!”
  • (laughter)
  • Kazuhito: I had asked Japan’s volleyball player Saori Kimura to take a picture of us Tanaka siblings. But because she was so tall, the picture was taken from a view that had never been taken before…
  • (laughter)
  • Kazuhito: All of us had to look way up at the camera.

Translation by: penguinee @Tumblr

About Kurumi Shim

Anime & manga enthusiast. Otaku Blogger. Gamer. J-drama fan.

Posted on September 3, 2012, in Translations, Videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

